Public Holidays NSW

Public Holidays NSW

Public Holiday information for New South Wales residents and visitors.
To view NSW regional public holidays such as show and cup days, use the region filter below.


2015 Public Holidays NSW – Statewide

Holiday Date Holiday Type Area
New Year's DayThursday, 1 January 2015PublicNSW Wide
Australia DayMonday, 26 January 2015PublicNSW Wide
Good FridayFriday, 3 April 2015PublicNSW Wide
Easter SaturdaySaturday, 4 April 2015PublicNSW Wide
Easter SundaySunday, 5 April 2015PublicNSW Wide
Easter MondayMonday, 6 April 2015PublicNSW Wide
Anzac DaySaturday, 25 April 2015PublicNSW Wide
Queen's BirthdayMonday, 8 June 2015PublicNSW Wide
Bank Holiday**Monday, 3 August 2015PublicNSW Wide
Labour DayMonday, 5 October 2015PublicNSW Wide
Christmas DayFriday, 25 December 2015PublicNSW Wide
Boxing DaySaturday, 26 December 2015PublicNSW Wide
Additional Day*Monday, 28 December 2015PublicNSW Wide

When ANZAC Day falls on a Saturday or Sunday there is no additional public holiday given.
* When 26 December (Boxing Day) is a Saturday, there is an additional public holiday on the following Monday.
**Only banks and certain financial institutions receive the Bank Holiday.


In New South Wales, public holidays can be divided into two groups - Statewide and Regional.

Statewide NSW Public Holidays are recognised by all regions throughout New South Wales. Some examples of statewide public holidays include Australia Day, ANZAC Day, Queen's Birthday and Boxing Day.

Regional NSW Public Holidays are special holidays that are only recognised in specific regions of New South Wales. The majority of the time these regional public holidays are held for local shows or on some occasions for horse racing events. Some regions even have part day public holidays, such as Grafton which has a half day holiday for the Ramornie Race Day and a half day holiday for the Grafton Cup Day.